to 24

self portrait - smoking

to 24

This week someone told me that I make a lot of declarative, definitive statements regarding most matters in the world and in how I perceive things to work, especially in these tough times. They didn’t say it was a bad thing, just that it was unusual in this day and age, and how it was refreshing overall. Of course I was aware that I have willpower to do anything I want but I hadn’t been called on it in a while and it got me thinking again about why I am this way.

It’s no secret that I am an idealist, that I believe things should be a certain way and that I do my best to help anywhere I can along those goals. I’m sure many of my formative years reading comic books, where the line between offensive villains and defensive heroes was always clearly defined didn’t help my idealized thought process. Nor did stories of knights, whip-wielding archaeologists, and Walt Disney help in my perceptions of doing what needs to be done to serve “a just cause”.

Still, I am left uneasy with the concept that I am a definitive person, that my opinions are absolute and unwavering. Yes, the notions of absolute “right” and “wrong” would be great if they were always clear and easy to define. However, as we all know the real world does not necessarily work in such a clear cut manner. Unfortunately, in the real world decisions are often made through reluctant compromise where sometimes, most times, no one really wins in the end, or at least not the “good guys”.

I am abundantly aware of what shades of grey consume us on any given day, but that doesn’t mean I have to be satisfied with them. We all make concessions every day to make the path easier, to lighten the load, to make others feel better, or when we are just too tired to put up a fight. It’s natural, and in these tough economic times, people are even more afraid to stand up and take a risk. It is completely understandable, and if you don’t get that, then you either haven’t been watching closely or are untouched by the changing times.

The countless shades of grey that consume the world we all inhabit seem to fluctuate between lighter and darker shades depending on the weather, who is in power, what news network you watch, the intensity of your headache that day, and how much sleep you got the night before. Life isn’t easy, but since when has it ever been?

All that said, the only thing that really bothers me about all of the struggles and uncertainties today is the lack of hope I see in people. A lot of people I know want things to get better but go through their days with a sincere disbelief that things can ever get better. Okay, maybe in certain instances they are correct, but no one ever lived a good life and nothing ever got better by thinking the worst. So sure, I freely admit that I may not always be the most positive person out there, but the one ideal I will always cling to is hope. That can never be a bad thing.

~ by Indira Singgih on March 8, 2011.

52 Responses to “to 24”

  1. Happy birthday Manik. Keep show your great works to the world.

  2. Ick gratuleer di scheun!

  3. Happy birthday. All the best for you!

  4. Happy birthday. Great job, girl!

  5. Happy birthday, Rain! We wish all the best for you and your team.

  6. happy birthday. congrats for highest rates in TJ studio. good work, dear!

  7. S dniom razhdjenia!

  8. Joyeux anniversaire!

  9. Happy birthday!

  10. happy birthday Rain.

  11. Bonne fete!

  12. happy birthday, sweety. i am very proud ever work with you. invite me again next time. lol.

  13. happy birthday Rain. love all your works.

  14. お誕生日おめでとうございます

  15. happy birthday. enjoy your holiday

  16. happy birthday!

  17. Happy birthday!

  18. Bon Anniv, X. Keep creative!

  19. Happy birthday X

  20. happy birthday. join with me!

  21. happy birthday

  22. happy birthday rain. keep cool and shoot me again!

  23. happy birthday Rain. hope u invite me in your next project.

  24. Bun Cumpleani!

  25. Happy birthday!

  26. Happy birthday, Manik!

  27. happy birthday, rain. wish u all d best in da future.

  28. joyeux anniv

  29. Thanks, friends! I love you all! ❤ ❤ ❤

  30. Loved these simply , fascinating

  31. I’d be inclined to give green light with you on this. Which is not something I usually do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

  32. i like it to 24 « Manik Photographe now im your rss reader

  33. I just want to mention I’m very new to blogging and site-building and absolutely savored your page. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your website . You absolutely have tremendous article content. Appreciate it for sharing your blog.

  34. I simply want to say I am just newbie to blogging and actually liked your web page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely have really good articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing with us your blog.

  35. I simply want to say I am just very new to blogs and truly liked you’re website. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really come with very good articles and reviews. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your blog site.

  36. As a web-site owner I believe the subject matter here is reallyfantastic. I thank you for your time. You should keep it up forever! Good Luck..

  37. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  38. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  39. I became honored to obtain a call coming from a friend when he observed the important suggestions shared in your site. Reading through your blog posting is a real excellent experience. Thanks again for thinking about readers at all like me, and I wish you the best of success like a professional topic.

  40. This is absolutely gold. I did not expect that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just got yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  41. There may be noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made sure good points in options also.

  42. this is great! hahaha Before I forget my prayers go out to those close by Tokyo hopefully your are OK as well as comfortable !…

  43. Great Post, I love to read articles that are informative and beneficial in nature. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and I look forward to reading more.

  44. My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking at your web page repeatedly.

  45. I merely wanted to thank you once more for this amazing site you have made here. It’s full of ideas for those who are actually interested in that subject, primarily this very post. Your all so sweet in addition to thoughtful of others and reading your website posts is a fantastic delight to me. And that of a generous reward! Tom and I really have fun making use of your ideas in what we must do in the near future. Our checklist is a distance long so your tips is going to be put to good use.

  46. Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  47. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  48. Howdy dear fellow, amazing blog! I found it very interesting and I’m looking forward to contribute to it!

  49. I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  50. Together with every thing which seems to be developing throughout this particular subject material, a significant percentage of opinions tend to be fairly exciting. Having said that, I beg your pardon, but I do not subscribe to your entire strategy, all be it exhilarating none the less. It would seem to everybody that your comments are not totally validated and in simple fact you are yourself not really wholly convinced of the point. In any case I did appreciate reading it.

  51. Throughout this great pattern of things you actually receive an A for effort. Where you actually misplaced everybody was on all the specifics. You know, people say, the devil is in the details… And that couldn’t be more correct right here. Having said that, permit me inform you just what did give good results. Your article (parts of it) is actually incredibly powerful and that is probably the reason why I am taking an effort to comment. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Secondly, despite the fact that I can notice the jumps in logic you come up with, I am definitely not convinced of exactly how you seem to connect the details which help to make the conclusion. For the moment I shall yield to your issue but wish in the future you connect your dots better.

  52. Hi there, I found your blog by the use of Google whilst searching for a related matter, your web site got here up, it seems to be great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

 
