Happy New Year

Metropolis, Paris

I look at my calendar and grab my index finger between 2010 and 2011. That year was one that will stand out for the rest of my life, the kind of year you reference more often than others when telling stories of lessons learned, darkness moments, uncertain times, miles traveled, and amazingly unusual experiences. That year I met more new faces than I have in a long time and learned more about myself than I was aware I needed to.

In the last year, I have made my life much more of an open book, expanding my new blog, my facebook (lol), and what I’m willing to admit about myself in every post. Though I am a very private person, overall I think that it has been a positive experience in forcing myself to just put more of who I am out there. I’m not that bizarre of a person, don’t have much to hide or many demons to conquer. The phrase I’ve used before is that “I’m just a simple person trying to do my best.” However, that isn’t necessarily true.

Yeah, I’m a pretty decent person, but I don’t try as hard as I should. Also, to be perfectly honest, I’m not that simple, either. When it gets down to it, I’m a pretty complicated guy, but thankfully what I want and need day-to-day are simple enough to not be too difficult for others. That said, just being easy to be around doesn’t make you a good person. Though I don’t really believe in the concept of “new year’s resolutions”, my goal is to do enough in this new year to feel like I’m being a better person. I don’t think I’m aware of just how daunting of a challenge that might be.

Honestly, I didn’t really find out where I have been before and don’t know where I’ll be this year. It’s like a dream for me. My guess is doing what I do, hopefully a little more successful, happily, and crazily. Listening to some others, however, the sky could be the limit. We shall see. No matter where I am headed, I just wanted to take a second to record my current view of things, give a nod to those new faces that stood out from the rest this year, some love to the friends who have helped me along my journey so far, and a wish for all the best for you in the future.

Let’s make 2011 a good one, shall we?

~ by Indira Singgih on January 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
