Worry With Your Body Size?

FACT:  The average woman thinks about her body once every 15 minutes, and the chances are she will be despairing. Surveys have found only 1 to 2 per cent of women actually like their figure, and while most in the USA are a size 14, many feel a size 12 to be fat.

I can’t tell you how many times people have derided me for the size of my models’ waistlines. Adjectives like skinny, waifish, and even anorexic have been used, often accompanied by a not-so-subtle accusation that those are the only kind of women that I desire to take photos of. Yes, the fashion and glamour industry does lend itself to smaller, leaner looking women, that is not a secret. Sex sells and I will be the first one to admit that thin bodies are what our society currently regards as the ideal form of attractiveness. In elaborately staged imagery I’ve often used those kinds of models to illustrate a point, using them in an ironic context in hopes of continuing a dialog about the industry as a whole. Whether you believe that or think that dialog was successful or not is something only you as the observer can judge.

Either way, please know that I personally love women of all shapes and sizes. Ever being a large person, I’ve appreciated the beauty of curves and extra skin my whole life. I have sketch books full of fleshy, folded women confidently displaying themselves, whose bodies, you may or may not know, are far more fun and interesting to draw and paint than those of taut sinew and muscle. I’ve often tried to convince larger women to model in a revealing manner for me, getting excited by their initial bold and fearless interest. Unfortunately, when the time finally comes, these ladies always seem to back out with one excuse or another.

Being sexy, not completely good, I think. Yeah, if everybody look at you and say “Hi”, I am certain that they appraise you because of your body shape, not because who you are.  Being too skinny, just make you look like a mannequin not like human. The positive side to be “ideal” is  becoming more attractive and maybe get a lot of boyfriend. You may change your boyfriend like changes clothes. Do you think that a man who love you ‘because your body shape’ is your truly love? Honestly, I am not that typical. I couldn’t change my boyfriend like a man changes socks. I just remember Sam Keen’s quote, “Love isn’t finding a perfect person. It’s seeing an imperfect person perfectly.”

We need to accept our bodies for what they are and focus on celebrating the individuals that make our world. Everyone is special. Everyone is unique. Everyone has a natural beauty and deserves to be happy with who they are.

After all, it is what is in our hearts that makes us who we are; not what is in our reflections. To me, loving yourself is the most beautiful thing of all. This is my message and this is my story.

~ by Indira Singgih on November 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
