Pretty Woman, Am I Hate You?

We’ve seen it all before. The “cute girl”, the “pretty face”, the “radiant smile”. Blah blah blah. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a fan. BIG FAN. But it gets old after a while. Sometimes, I hate them, I think. Okay, I may be a bit jaded after having taken photos of over two hundred women (I am not certain about this count), I am so bored. Sure, I’ve been suckered in by a pretty face, we all have. But I’d like to think I’m getting past all that. Which is why my current work is evolving: the beauty queen who likes to fight, a beggar on the street corner, people being exposed in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Having worked with a few very professional-grade models, I learned fairly quickly that the mystique attributed to them isn’t all its cracked up to be. A bit dense, a tad phony, with a slightly askew notion of what is deemed relevant and important for a good life.

I get teased by friends about it constantly. We’ll be at a restaurant, in a store, at a car wash, and I’ll approach some attractive waitress/clerk/attendant with my standard, “Hi, this may sound weird, but have you ever modeled before? Would you like to?” Then begins the series of questions, reassurances, passing out of business cards, displaying of sample images off of my pocket camera, all in an effort to show I am legitimate and not some pervert. And my favorite part, when I can attempt to persuade someone to do a photo session with me.

These women are real, with opinions and personalities, and more often than not have always wanted to model. They have just as many issues and baggage and hang-ups as everyone else. Thankfully I have an innate ability to put them at ease and build up a mutual trust, to get them to open up about themselves, and eventually capture their true nature.

However, with trust, and eventually true friendship, comes a willingness to try new things, exploring not only my ideas but their own. Yes, they are all attractive women and I will be the first to admit that “sex sells”, but these images are a lot deeper than that. I try to slip a little reality in there, a bit of brutal honesty and an uncomfortable familiarity that hopefully takes a simple image of a woman in a straight jacket and makes it into a sad and real metaphor for how she lives her own particular life.

Don’t ever think that I only save some “pretty woman pictures” in my database. I do have thousands photos (=@/+{#$-%^&*?=) of  “foolish, crazy, bitch, fool, bad, and nasty” woman. And of course, I have some really controversial images of men that made them look really bad to stop being so confrontational with my images that tend to make women look bad. My most popular, if that would be the correct adjective, has been “The Racial Stereotype”. But I am really sorry, I cannot post this ‘crazy folder’ in my blog because I am so worry that they will send me to the hell if they know I publish their photos.

I’m definitely not one to hide away from a little controversy from time to time. My personality is what strangers have called “mysterious” on good days and downright “rude” on bad ones. I can’t deny that there is a large aspect of my personality that tends to be a bit extreme, but I like to think I also have a quiet, thoughtful side, too. Well, that is not the part I am going to mention in this post.

Okay, i have posted a lot of photos there. I hope you can look those for a while and leave comments. I enjoy and pay attention to the negative ones, and mostly overlook the positive comments. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

~ by Indira Singgih on November 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
